Damian Lazarus Presents: Day Zero

This is the end of the world, this is a new beginning, this is Day Zero.

“On December 21st 2012, the 5,125-year cycle of the Maya calendar will reach its conclusion. Contrary to popular belief this does not signal the end of the World as we know it but, in the words of Damian Lazarus, it is “the beginning of a new chapter.”

 The Crosstown Rebels boss is planning a huge celebration for this momentous occasion in the shape of Day Zero. Featuring artists such as James Lavelle and Massive Attack’s 3D (playing a special collaborative set), Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Jamie Jones, Art Department, Trentmoller and many more, Day Zero boasts a line up that is quite simply out of this world. Hosted in the beautiful surroundings of Playa Del Carmen in Mexico, there is no better place witness this historically epic event.

 To herald this once in a lifetime event, Lazarus has asked thirteen artists to create a new track for an exclusive compilation, mixed together by the man himself. Entitled Day Zero: Sound Of The Mayan Spirit. It’s a small taster of just how amazing this event is set to be. It’s officially released by Crosstown Rebels on December 3 on 2 x 12”, but for a limited period you can download this exclusive mix here: http://soundcloud.com/crosstownrebels/day-zero-sound-of-the-mayan-1.

The Caribbean coast of Mexico will be set alight as it plays host to 24 solid hours of pulsating electronic music and entertainment at the one-off party, including specially prepared sets from some of the world’s finest DJs as they embrace a new moment in time.

 From a pyramid site set between two lakes in Playa del Carmen, the centre of Mayan civilisation, Day Zero will bring a magical mix of sound and music from the most forward-thinking electronic music artists as they count down 24 hours to the climax at 11 minutes past 6pm on December 21st 2012.

  The event will also welcome a selection of outstanding alternative performances, workshops, games from Mayan Culture, and jaw-dropping 3D visuals and projections.”


For more information: www.dayzerofestival.com


01. Pier Bucci – Mayas
02. Quenum – The Prophecy
03. Mathew Jonson- In Seach of a New Planet with Oxygen
04. Metrika – Jeel, k’eex
05. Francesca Lombardo – Cosmic Dancer
06. Fur Coat – Greed, Insanity
07. Fosky & BOg – Chestionabil
08. Jay Haze – 2012
09. Eduardo Castillo – Ahometa Kuyaxi
10. Navid Izadi ft. KMLN – Kurandero
11. Mike Shannon – Sunrise
12. Thugfucker & Shaun Reeves – Timewave Zero
13. Acid Pauli & Nu – 12